WAW to AMS

After a few days in Warsaw to rest after Prague, I was excited to meet up Frances in Amsterdam! Frances happened to be flying from Chicago to Amsterdam through Warsaw, so I arranged to be on the same flight. However, I wanted it to be a surprise, which required forging flight information for Frances so she wouldn’t be expecting me.

I checked in and waited at the gate to surprise Frances since I got there before she did. She didn’t see me as she sat down, so I walked over and asked if the seat next to her was taken. Surprise accomplished! I was equally excited to see her and to finally be with someone my own age who speaks English! Naturally, we had to celebrate with a Polish beer at the airport bar.

The flight was, as most flights are, stressful. First, our plane was delayed, but only by about 15 minutes. Second, we were flying on Friday the 13th.

Then, our pilot kept saying we were flying to Brussels so I started freaking out, thinking we were on the wrong plane. A few minutes later, the pilot came back on the mic and apologized, assuring us we were heading to Amsterdam. Although it wasn’t very reassuring that our pilot was confused about our destination.

There was also tons of turbulence, and then we had to fly through a black storm cloud to land!

Luckily, Amsterdam was actually nice and sunny. True, it wasn’t hot, but at least it wasn’t raining.

Leave a Reply

