Lasting impressions: London

I enjoyed London, but I can’t say it’s my favorite place in Europe. To be quite honest, it didn’t truly feel like Europe to me for some reason. Maybe it’s because they also speak English, or maybe because they use pounds instead of Euros. It just doesn’t have the same feel or atmosphere (or maybe charm)Β that I usually associate with Europe based on my experiences so far.

But there’s definitely still more I’d like to see in London:

  • Visit the Tower of London, Tate MuseumΒ and some other remaining attractions (but NOT the London Eye – I don’t plan on ever going on there!).
  • Explore other neighborhoods outside of the immediate tourist area, including Chelsea and Notting Hill, to get more of a feel for the city.
  • Experience the nightlife! We were way too tired (or maybe too lame) to really party it up the few days we were in London.

That being said, I’d have to say my favorite experiences from this trip in London were the treasures collected during centuries of imperialism (i.e. British Museum), the legacy of London’s more recent history (the past 100 or 200 years, including writers like Dickens, characters like Sherlock Holmes and Peter Pan) and Westminster Abbey.

Cheerio London!

Leave a Reply

